Are you a robot?

img ]

Why did this happen?

Please make sure your browser supports JavaScript and cookies and that you are not blocking them from loading. For more information you can review our Terms of Service and Cookie Policy.

Educational Theatre Association Awards More Than $40,000 in Scholarships to Theatre Students

img ]

Educational Theatre Association Awards More Than $40,000 in Scholarships to Theatre Students

The arts education advocacy organization honored students from 11 states with the educational funding.

The Educational Theatre Association has announced the recipients of their 2021 scholarships, representing more than $40,000 in educational funding for theatre students from 11 states. The scholarships are available to members of the International Thespian Society, an honor society for high school theatre students run by EdTA.

The Dr. Kenny D. Hasija Scholarship, which supports applicants from historically underrepresented groups in the theatre industry, went to Sarah Long of Bridgeland High School in Cypress, Texas; Trinity Joseph of Patapsco High School and Center for the Arts in Dundalk, Maryland; and Imani Okwuosa of Heritage High School in Conyers, Georgia. Madison Crick of O’Connor High School in Helotes, Texas takes the Christopher L. Hunt Scholarship, named on behalf of the late former EdTA marketing director and given to Thespians planning careers in theatre business or marketing. The EdTA President’s Leadership Scholarship was awarded to Jeyna Lynn Gonzalez, a former Thespian officer from J.R. Arnold High School in Panama City Beach, Florida; and Rosanna Gao, an International Thespian officer from William A. Shine - Great Neck South High School in Great Neck, New York. Charlotte Perez of Bowling Green High School in Bowling Green, Ohio, receives the EdTA Board of Directors Scholarship. All four scholarships include $1,000 cash awards.

The Melba Day Henning Scholarship, which awards $3,000 to an undergraduate student currently enrolled in full-time theatre education study at an accredited college university, was given to Audrey Burgoon, formerly of Salina Central High School in Salina, Kansas.

Nazarene Campodonico of Salen High School in Salem, Georgia receives the Michael Peitz Leadership Scholarship, which includes a $1,500 award.

Five $1,000 training scholarships were awarded by the Princess Grace Foundation, a new initiative announced earlier this year, to Laila Carter of North Oconee High School in Bogart, Georgia; Dane Lackey of Marble Falls High School in Marble Falls, Texas; Emma Stellmach of Brownsburg High School in Brownsburg, Indiana; Jacki Vellandi of Orange County School of the Arts in Santa Ana, California; and Caroline Yim of Juanita High School in Kirkland, Washington.

Grace Sorenson received the Amy Bennett Musical Theatre Scholarship, a $2,500 prize awarded to a student planning to study musical theatre at a college or conservatory.

For more information on the Educational Theatre Association and the International Thespian Society, visit

Angelina College Releases Soccer Schedules, First Game August 19

img ]

In February of 2020, Nataki Stewart was named Angelina College’s head soccer coach for both the women’s and men’s teams. Just two weeks later, a worldwide pandemic shut down everything, meaning Stewart – along with his assistant coaches Paul Murillo and Alex Meany – has yet to coach his first game for his Lady Roadrunner and Roadrunner teams.

The wait is coming close to an end. The upcoming soccer schedules for the AC teams has now been released. The season schedule includes eight home stands, with each of those consisting of women/men doubleheaders. To ensure fans have the best opportunity to see his teams in action, Stewart set all match times for 5:00 p.m. for the Lady Roadrunners and 7:30 p.m. for the Roadrunner men.

“One of the big pieces for us in returning is the community involvement,” Stewart said. “We wanted to set our game times at appropriate times to allow our community – especially our young fans – to see us play.”

AC’s teams will open the season on the road at Dallas College-Mountain View on Thursday, Aug. 19 before hosting the home opener against Hill College on Thursday, Aug. 26. Other home stands include Aug. 28 (Jacksonville College, conference opener), Sept. 4 (Northeast Texas Community College), Sept. 11 (Blinn College), Sept. 15 (Tyler JC), Oct. 6 (Paris JC), Oct. 13 (Navarro College women, Coastal Bend CC men) and Oct. 23 (Trinity Valley CC). Stewart said he’s currently looking to add at least one more home slot to the schedule.

Angelina College plays all home matches at Jase Magers Field on the Lufkin High School campus.

For now, the home opener against Hill College is generating a little more excitement as it will mark AC athletic programs’ return to competition.

“Our first home game at Jase Magers will be an ‘Orange Out’ game, and we’d love to see all our fans dressed out in orange,” Stewart said. “It’s going to be a very competitive game. Hill’s program is very good and nationally recognized. I can tell you that our fans will be proud of the product we’re putting on the pitch this year.”

Get our free mobile app

To view the entire AC soccer schedule (along with periodic updates), visit